More and more people are following a ketogenic diet nowadays. Although low-carb dairy products provide health benefits. If you want to eliminate dairy products you can do a Dairy-Free Keto Diet.
If you are allergic or intolerant to dairy products, or you are struggling with lactose or dairy proteins. You should go to Dairy-Free Keto.
There are a wide variety of dairy substitutions and dairy-free recipes that will help you to follow a Dairy-Free Keto Diet lifestyle.
While doing this diet we would recommend you to exclude butter and prefer ghee, coconut oil or olive oil.
Keto is the new favourite in the health and wellness sector. As a larger population is moving from paleo to keto diet larger is the trust over Dairy-Free Keto Diet.
Benefits of A Keto diet
This diet leads to a state of ketosis. In the state of ketosis, your liver produces ketones, which will use dietary and/or stored body fat to create energy. Your body will burn fat for energy in the absence of carbohydrates in your diet. The body will now use fat instead of your body pumping out insulin constantly which shuttles blood sugar (glucose) into cells for fuel.
Our body produces glucagon instead of insulin and which leads to stimulation of lipolysis. This state of ketosis lets the body create ketones which are anti-inflammatory and clean fuel for your brain. You have sustained energy as the fat burns slower.
Dairy-Free Keto Diet Food List: What to Avoid
Following are the foods you should avoid if you want to be completely dairy-free:
- Butter, butterfat, butter oil
- Cottage cheese
- Heavy Cream
- Custard and pudding
- Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate, and lactoferrin
- Lactose, lactulose, and tagatose
- Milk-based protein powders
- Yoghurt (in all forms), sour cream, sour cream solids, and sour milk solids
- Whey (in all forms)
Other possible sources of dairy proteins or lactose:
- Artificial butter flavour
- Baked goods
- Caramel candies
- Lactic acid starter culture and other bacterial cultures
- Luncheon meat, hot dogs, and sausages that use the milk protein casein as a binder.
- Non-dairy products that contain casein
- Brands of tuna fish that contain casein
- Soy, nut, or rice-based dairy alternatives
- Butter fried grilled steaks
- A few medications
Although all of these products will not certainly contain lactose or milk proteins, it is important to be mindful of everything you are buying and eating. You must read food labels carefully.
Here is a much more refined list of dairy-containing products that you will encounter on the keto diet:
- Heavy whipping cream
- Half and half
- Greek yoghurt
- Paneer or Cottage cheese, cream cheese, sour cream, mascarpone.
- Mozzarella, brie, blue, Colby, Monterey jack, etc.
- Cheddar, parmesan, feta, swiss and hard cheese, etc.
Foods One Can Eat on The Dairy-Free Keto Diet?
- One should eliminate animal fats and plant-based oils – Avoid all fats that are derived from dairy and stick with plant-based oils. One can use MCT oil, coconut oil and olive oil.
- Avoid red meat, poultry, and seafood- Try to stick with organic, pasture-raised, and 100% grass-fed meat and wild-caught fish where possible.
- Low-carb vegetables -Prefer vegetables that grow above the ground and green leafy vegetables as well.
- Low-carb fruits – Although all fruits are not keto-friendly but you can consume some keto-friendly fruits are avocados, berries, and some citrus fruits.
- Nuts and seeds – As some nuts have a decent amount of carbohydrates try eating those in moderation. You can prefer macadamias, pecans, and almonds over other nuts.
- Dairy alternatives – There are plenty of dairy alternatives that you can use to replace common keto foods like heavy cream, cheese, sour cream, half and half, and yoghurt.
Use Dairy-Free Substitutes
There are many dairy-free alternatives available for purchase, as well as recipes to make at home. Although, the flavour won’t be identical to your favourite dairy products; however, they are all tasty, healthy options that you’ll quickly learn to love.
Butter → Ghee or Coconut Oil
Heavy whipping cream → Coconut milk
Mascarpone → Coconut cream
Kefir → Coconut milk kefir
Yoghurt → Coconut milk yoghurt
Cream cheese → Dairy-free cheese
Parmesan → Nutritional yeast
Milk → Nut, seed milk or coconut milk
Note: Ghee is also known as clarified butter which lacks casein and lactose. Most people find ghee palatable and some people might avoid it altogether.
We can conclude that while following a Dairy-free keto diet you have good sources of calcium even if you are not willing to have dairy products.